• It has been acknowledged that the council has started operation since the early 1950's.
  • In 1948, during the Emergency, new Malay villages and Chinese areas were set up at Redang Panjang, Bagan Baru, Sungai Terap, Kubu Gajah and Rantau Panjang.
  • Perkampungan Baru (New Village) was named for the Malay villages and Local Council for the Chinese villages.
  • In 1952, Selama District Council was known as Selama Town Board under the Local Council Ordinance.
  • In 1953, Selama Town Board was known as Local Council that covered the areas of Perkampungan Baru and Local Council under Local Council Ordinance.
  • The local Council was chaired by the District Officer and the committee members were from the local residents who were elected in the Local Government election.
  • During this period, it is under the patronage of the State Government.
  • On 28 October 1964, a Royal Commission headed by Athi Nahappan was set up to look into the administration of the Local Authorities in West Malaysia.
  • One of the proposals was to combine a few Local Authorities, making them into a single identity.
  • In 1965, the Local Councils' administration was disrupted and the Local Government election became void.
  • Resulting from the void election, the Local Government and the Committee Members were elected by the State Government. The Chairman was then elected by the Committee Members endorsed by the State Government.
  • In the late 1960's Selama Town Board and all Local Councils in Selama District was known as Local Government Administrator Board for Selama and its branches.
  • The Local Government Administrator Board was basically an autonomous financial body assisted by the State Government through the Launch Grant and Annual Grant.
  • Most of the staff in Local Government Administrator Board (LGAB) was seconded from the State Government especially in the administration, assisted by ARO (Chinese Administrator) and AMIR (Malay Administrator) to look after the welfare of the Chinese people and the Malay people, respectively.
  • As the outcome of Athi Nahappan's inquiry, the Local Authorities were restructured.
  • On 1 December 1979, Selama District Council was created by combining the following Local Authorities:
    1. Selama Local Government Administrative Board..
    2. Sungai Terap Local Government Administrative Board
    3. Sungai Bayor Local Government Administrative Board
    4. Bagan Baru Local Government Administrative Board
    5. Rendang Panjang Local Government Administrative Board
    6. Kampung Masjid Local Government Administrative Board
    7. Rantau Panjang Local Government Administrative Board
    8. Kubu Gajah Local Government Administrative Board
  • On 24 April 1980, Selama District Council was gazetted through the Perak Government Gazette P.U.P.K. 14 with the area of approximately 764.73 sq km.

Related Links