Organisation Information


  • Selama District Council is a Local Authority with the power given by the Local Government Act 1976 (Act 171) to provide the Selama district Council municipal services. It was established on 1 December 1979.
  • Selama District Council is located in Selama Little District and is part of Larut, Matang and Selama District. The gazetted area is 51 sq miles or 132 sq km.
  • The administrative area is located in Selama town which is the biggest town in this district. It has eight (8) other small towns of which their development are under the Council's jurisdiction.
  • The council is made up of 22 Councillors and one Yang Dipertua who are appointed by the State Local Authority and has 91 employees.
  • To smoothen the Administration process, this organisation is divided into seven (7) divisions. All seven divisions are integrated to achieve the Council's objectives and to ensure that all Government regulations and policies are followed. The Divisions are as follows:-


  1. Administration and Secretariat Division
  2. Finance and Account Division
  3. Valuation Division
  4. Town Services Division
  5. Town and Country Planning Division
  6. Engineering Division
  7. One Stop Centre
  8. Information Technology Division

Related Links